Universal (for profit) Pre-K, DFER and the suits

Seattle Education

Money (2)

First, a bit of background about my family and why I am concerned about preschool and what «Universal pre-K» really means.

As I have mentioned before, my family is African-American. My mother grew up in South Carolina in the early 1900’s with four siblings, a mother who was a music teacher and a father who was a train porter.

In my family it was understood that the way to succeed was to have as much education as possible.

My mother received her Master’s Degree in Child Psychology and Early Childhood Development from the University of Southern California during the Depression. Something that to this day puts me in awe.

My dad, Brice Taylor, was the Director of Head Start for Southern California. He came from a very difficult background in Seattle but went on to become the First All-American in football at the University of Southern California. Sometime after graduation…

Δείτε την αρχική δημοσίευση 2.874 επιπλέον λέξεις

Σχολιάστε

