Silvia Federici, «Putting feminism back on its feet»

caring labor: an archive

«Putting feminism back on its feet»

Silvia Federici

Social Text, No. 9/10, The 60’s without Apology (Spring – Summer, 1984), pp. 338-346

Conducted in New York City, summer 1983, by S. Sayres. Questions have been deleted.

Almost fourteen years have passed since I became involved with the women’s
movement. At first it was with a certain distance. I would go to some
meetings but with reservations, since to a «politico» like I was it seemed
difficult to reconcile feminism with a «class perspective.» Or this at least
was the rationale. More likely I was unwilling to accept my identity as a
woman after having for years pinned all my hopes on my ability to pass for
a man. Two experiences were crucial in my becoming a committed feminist.

First my living with Ruth Geller, who has since become a writer and recorded
in her Seed of a Woman the…

Δείτε την αρχική δημοσίευση 4.446 επιπλέον λέξεις

Σχολιάστε

